Mama’s old-school 70s cooking

I was at my parents’ house a couple of weeks ago, rummaging through the garage amongst a pile of cookbooks that my mum was looking to chuck out. Amidst the recycling-to-be titles such as ‘Low Calorie Cooking’ were the first cookbooks my mum bought herself in her early twenties.

One for veg, one for fish and one for rice and noodles. They’re a treasure trove of weird and wonderful – some great Japanese classics but also, stuff as questionable as the following:

On the other hand, there’s the good stuff like this. And over the next couple of weeks, I’ll start sharing the recipes that work (and maybe some of the batshit insane ones too).  Maybe I’ll just go gung-ho into the spirit of 1970s Japan and just start smoking in my office too.

Leave a Reply

